MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Scared …..

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Scared …..

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Shea P
    Participant

This is my first time posting, I’m a 58 yr old black woman recently diagnosed with MDS. Would like to know if there is anyone like myself. I did not have cancer prior to this and have no other health issues.

LeAnn Duke
    Participant

Hi Shea,
    My name is LeAnn and I have recently been diagnosed with MDS too. June 1st of this year to be exact. I am a white 58 yrs old female. I have the Refractory Anemia with ringed sideroblasts. I have been taking the shot Aranesp for the last 12 weeks, one shot every three weeks with the hope that they will help my bone marrow to produce more red blood cells. Right now my Red blood cells are all that is involved and since June I have had 4 transfusions. I look forward to talking with you and being able to share whatever we may have in common with this disease.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Shea, Where do you live? The MDS Foundation has scheduled free upcoming MDS Patient Forums in a good cross section of different cities nationally. Whether you are a newly diagnosed patient, a long-term survivor, or caregiver, this event will have something for you. Aside from having a wonderful breakfast and lunch you will meet others like yourself. You will also learn from experts about treatment therapies and strategies for Patients & Caregivers LIVING with MDS.

LeAnn Duke
    Participant