MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

If it's not MDS, what could it be?

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board If it's not MDS, what could it be?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Shellie

Hello to everyone. I am new here, although i’ve been reading for several days now. I am seeking information in an attempt to help my dad. My dad is 59 yrs old. He has not been formally diagnosed with MDS as of today. I am not a doctor but I honestly believe this is finally the answer to what he has going on with him. This past year he has been getting sicker and sicker. He is not one to go to the doctor unless he is forced to (an almost impossible task). So far this is what we know is for sure going on with him.
    1. Type II diabetic (never taken seriously by him)
    2. Congestive heart failure (has 39% function)
    3. Kidney failure (about 50%)
    4. Diabetic Retinopathy (almost completely blind)
    5. Has had 3 heart attacks since August 2004
    6. Severe anemia (13 transfusions since August)