MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

New to MDS

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board New to MDS

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Palacelaw

Hi,

My mother just turned 53. She was diagnosed with MDS this past summer. She’s been on Procrit for some time. Today her doctor took her off of Procrit and put her on Vidaza because her hemoglobin counts were low. I am relatively new to this and was wondering if anyone could answer these questions:

If Vidaza doesn’t work what is the next step? What are the survival rates like for 53 year old women with MDS? Are there any clinical trials in Ohio that my mother could join?

Thanks for all your help,

Drew

April

Where does she live in Ohio?

Palacelaw

Near Lima, Ohio.

April

I do know that Cleveland Clinic is considered a Center of Excellence for MDS. You may want to check that out and see if she is willing to go and meet with some of the doctors.

Palacelaw

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

shirlsgirl

Drew,

Welcome to this board! I’m sorry you had to come find it, but you’ll find a wealth of information and support. Best of luck with your mom! Jody

eve

hi drew

first and foremost – is your mom being treated by a doctor that is experienced with treating mds patients – has your mom been given a classification of mds

your mom is very young – has anyone mentioned a bmt to her – it is the only chance for a cure

you can check the cancer web site for any clinical trials and this (mds) site