MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

del 5q failed on Revlimid now to start Vidaza

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board del 5q failed on Revlimid now to start Vidaza

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Kathy Stermer
    Participant

I am a retired nurse 61yo. My MDS was found a year ago after a wrist fx and incidental finding on lab work. After 8 months of taking Revlimid with minimal results have required 13 transfusions so far and now is deemed ineffective so Vidaza starting this week. Have cared for transplant patients the last 15 years and decided it’s not for me. Odds not great, too many side effects, bone marrow may take but other organs at high risk for destruction and relapse rate too great. Yes I want to live the best life I can with whatever time I have left. I accept we all have an “expiration date” and my preference is to spend it with my family and not in a hospital. I struggle most with trying to just live with this and not fret the “what if’s”. Wishing all of you the best journey possible in dealing with this highly variable disease. My journey will end with Vidaza so crossing my fingers it gives me some quality time without too much hassle.

Curtis Hicks
    Participant