MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Just Diagnosed

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Just Diagnosed

Tagged: 

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Carrie Lynch
    Participant

Please help. I am a 50 year old female and was just diagnosed with MDS. I am in early stage. My doctor is not treating it yet is this normal? My neutrophils are low along with my white blood cells. I am tired, get night sweats, and am losing weight. I would appreciate any advice, I am a teacher and coach 2 sport seasons. I am not ready to retire I am shocked and scared.

Marie Yeager
    Participant

Hi Carrie,
    Some versions of MDS are not nearly as aggressive as others. Do you know your karyotype and any other mutations? How is your hemoglobin? My husband has had low risk MDS for 4 years and is currently not receiving treatment because he is stable. It is honestly all about which karyotype you have… some are quite aggressive while others can remain stable for many years. One major suggestion I will make to you – go to a center of excellence. Local hematologists are not nearly as dialed in to the best treatments as they are at the major hospitals. we regret not going immediately to Johns Hopkins which is an hour away from us. Could have save ourselves a lot of sleepless nights and heartache. We transferred his care there 6 months ago and it has been a Godsend for both of our mental health. There are some great groups on Facebook that are very active as well.
    Sending you a virtual hug,
    Marie

jebs554
    Participant