MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

MDS bone and muscle pain

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board MDS bone and muscle pain

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Marcy Bohannon
    Participant

I have been receiving Vidaza for 5 months and have multipie complications of the MDS: blood clot in right lung, hypernephrosis of left kidney, enlarged ureter, now taking Xeralto blood thinner, right side sternum and rib pain, and yesterday started having bone and muscle pain in my arms, legs, and feet. Walking very slowly. It is all I can do to keep myself from getting depressed with all of these new complications. The one advantage is that I have only had one transfusion since December and that is the goal as my iron is very high also and may have to be treated soon.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Dear Marcy, I know this is a difficult situation for you. Bone pain is a symptom that many patients experience with MDS. This can be due to lack of oxygen to the muscles, an immune component to MDS much like arthritis. However, good to hear that your transfusion burden has lessened.