MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

My father's MDS

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board My father's MDS

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    andrzej g.

Afternoon My Dear Ones,
    This is my first post on this forum. I’m writing it though the tears and grief cannot be fought. I am a physician working at Polish Medical Emergency Care. My father is a surgeon who’s still working at his age of 66. He has always taken much care of the medical diagnostics and in such a way he had diagnosed himself with the very beginning forms of thyroid and prostatic cancers. In october he diagnosed a strange granulocytopenia and his counts was falling. Now I know he has MDS as the BMB says. There are 13,2% of blasts in his marrow and the marrow is very very hypocellular. It seems that the prognosis is dramatic. He has only 400 granulocytes, though ca 2000 of the leukocytes. He is still working, he takes care of the house and the old dog. We are waiting to see the cytogenetics and the trepanobiopsy but I know what I may expect. He might not live to see the summer. I am so scared and I feel like… One cannot express it with words.
    Respect to all of you, My Dear Ones…
    Andrzej

Lexingtongrn

I am so sorry. I understand..there are no words that can express that feeling. I will remember you and your father in my prayers.

alexandra7
    Participant

Dear Andrezej,