MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Revlimid Side Effects

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Revlimid Side Effects

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    JimLucas

I am new to this as my 83 year-old father was diagnosed several weeks ago with MDS deletion 5q-. My problem is that my father is very, very private, lives about a 4-hour drive away, and does not share the details of his test results or doctors visits.

I have done some online research on Dr. Alan List and deletion 5q- which led me to this website. My father has full confidence in his Oncologist Hematologist and has been on Revlimid now for just a couple of weeks. He receives frequent transfusions and other injections but the details are always very sketchy.

My question is in regards to the side effects of taking Revlimid. Whereas his weekly or bi-weekly transfusions used to revive him enough to lead a relatively normal/active life, he has suddenly weakened to the point of not being able to leave the house except for doctor visits. He has lost his appetite, is often nauseous, has become somewhat incontinent, and his voice has weakened so much that it doesn’t even sound like him on the phone anymore.

I would like to know if anyone has had a similar reaction to Revlimid and whether these side effects can be considered “normal”. Even my father doesn’t know if his sudden weakness is a result of the disease progressing or the drug taking effect.