MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Transfusions

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Transfusions

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    lizab.

I’m new to MDS and to this Forum. I’ve now had 3 transfusions, 2 months apart, and after each one have had a week to ten days of nausea and diarrhea and general misery.
    Is this ‘usual’ ?
    The hematology department in our local, large, user-unfriendly hospital is not being helpful…although someone did say “It shouldn’t happen”
    I’m in Western Canada.
    Any contacts, comments, suggestions, would be more than welcome.
    Liz.

jga_socal

Hopefully you are getting leuko-reduced, packed red blood cells. The leuko-reduced process adds expense to the product but it removes much of the donors white (leukocyte) blood cells.
    However, your symptoms indicate that you are getting non leuko-reduced rbcs and the donors white blood cells are causing problems in the expected places.
    Jim

AlexD
    Participant

I cannot say that I’ve ever had that kind of reaction to a transfusion and I receive one every 3 weeks. (4 bags, ~1.2L)

I do receive leuko-reduced and always have, but due to allergies of the protein in the blood, mine gets washed. The worst reaction I’ve had to blood is body-covering hives and shortness of breath. (allergy)

Definitely ask about about the white cells in the blood, if any.

Alex

covergirl