MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Transplant question

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Transplant question

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Tracy Jakusz
    Participant

Hi there!
    I am relatively new to MDS (diagnosed in Oct 2019) and have only been treated with bi-monthly Aranesp injections which I am responding well to (HGB consistently in the 10s). I have 6% blasts and the dreaded RUNX1 mutation and apparently ETNK1 and NRAS (no idea what those are). I recently went to Mayo, since my only BMB was almost 2 years ago and not at a CFE. Nothing has progressed and I am considered low risk. I am 59 and still working full time and work out 6 days a week. I was shocked when they called to schedule me to come back in to Mayo to meet with a transplant MD. I asked the hematologist why, since I am responding to treatments and have had not needed any blood transfusions or chemo. She told me it was the only cure. I know how dangerous transplants are and know I would need to go on disability and stop working. I am confused since I am only 59 and still not needing aggressive treatments. Any one else have this experience? Thoughts? Would appreciate any and all feedback! Thanks in advance!

Kathie Wolf
    Participant