MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

Hello… newbie here!

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board Hello… newbie here!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    daddiesgrl

Mom & Dad both turned 73 in April and have been married for 54 yrs.

Dad was recently diagnosed with MDS. He’s pretty healthy except some heart problems. He has walked most every day since 1978. He has eaten a very healthy diet for at least 25 yrs.

Just beginning research today. Any help and guidence would be appreciated. I know we need to do lots of research and learn all about his condition and this is the first place I found. Well the website, but I thought the message boards would be a big help to my family.

My parents were told that dad’s IPSS score is 2. They said he would start getting sick anywhere from 6 mo. to 2 yrs. from now.

Well, don’t know what else to share right now. I will do some reading and hopefully find some support and helpful information that might help me and my family learn more about this. We want to help improve the quality of his life and learn how to help each other through this difficult time.

Thank you,
    daddiesgrl

bobweinberg

You should not stop at the website. Call Audrey Hassan at the Foundation’s 800#, and talk to her about options, Centers of Excellence for a second opinion, drug possibilities, etc. The Foundation also has booklets to distribute on MDS. But the most important part is that it provides someone with whom to speak about what is happening in the MDS world.

daddiesgrl