MDS is a bone marrow failure disorder
MDS is a blood cancer
Learn More >

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board Post New Thread

Welcome to the MDS Patient Message Board. We hope that you will find this to be a very valuable resource in your journey. We have recently revised the format of our forum to be much more user friendly and pleasing on the eyes. Let us know if you have any problems, or if you have additional suggestions on how we might further improve our site.

vidaza after AML relapse

Home Demo forums Patient Message Board vidaza after AML relapse

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Carruth

This is my first time to participate–I’ve been reading for over a week. You guys are amazing! My mother-in-law began vidaza a few weeks ago and is scheduled to do the second round next week (4/7). She had induction for AML in October/06, but was too ill for consolidation. Her numbers began falling a few months ago, with blasts I think around 5%. She barely survived the initial chemo (pneumonia, staph, bleeding, etc.) and took months even to walk again. Anyway, just wondering if anyone has had success with vidaza after relapsing from an original diagnosis of AML. The first vidaza treatment plummeted her counts and she ended up in the hospital four days. She’s 74, by the way.

Russ P.

Carruth, Not sure about the AML diagnosis with blasts at 5%. I didn’t go from MDS to AML untill the blasts were over 20%. Anyway it is difficult to say how your MIL will do as everyone responds differently. Vidaza and Dacogen both knock down the WBC, PLT, & ANC so it helps to have the numbers up to start. Pray she will come through it OK.
    Russ

Carruth

Russ